Introduction to Tally charts.

Another idea which was spontaneous.
My son drew 6 teddy bears and was going round asking everybody to choose one and drew a circle around the chosen teddy. Well as you can guess it soon got that we couldn’t count the circles so I decided to show him how to do a tally chart.

20121122-171042.jpg
I used a big handful of Hama beads to count and wrote the colours down on a piece of paper.
I did the first 5 for him to show him how it worked and then he took over

20121122-171305.jpg
When we was done he started counting the marks one by one until I pointed out he could count in 5’s.
For extra practice in counting I wrote down his age, my age and his grandmas age (she wasn’t over happy when she saw we had to use a second line!!!! Lol)

20121122-171628.jpg
My 2 and 4 year old daughters wanted to join in too

20121122-215129.jpg
This is a simple but educational activity, which now we have taught them the basics I am going to use this in a travel scavenger hunt, who can spot the most lorries, motorbikes and so on, it should give us some peace.

Why don’t you join me on Facebook, would love to see you over there.

This entry was posted in maths and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

