Sight word game

Since Christmas is coming up my daughters school has stopped doing homework as well as a lot of structured work in school. Which is normally a nice wind down for the kids but my daughter is missing it.
As I had previously found some sight word printables here I thought now would be a good time to get them out.
I placed them upside down on the table and she had to pick one, read it, then use the word in a sentence.

20121218-194443.jpg
My daughter loved this and it helped with her sight/tricky words as well as how to structure a sentence.
In the beginning or on the harder words we only had small sentence like “red box” which I replied that’s good but it’s not really a sentence. She had another thought and came up with “this is a red box”.
We did try to make a story with the words picked at random but she couldn’t quite grasp that idea and my son just wasn’t interested, so I ended up playing that game by myself!!!!

This entry was posted in literacy skills. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

