Make tidying up a game

I don’t know why I didn’t think of this before. While I was feeling ill hubby had to take Izlles to tennis leaving me with 3 children and a very messy living room, that’s what happens when you spend time in hospital!!!
Anyway I asked Posy and Puppy to “tidy up please”. Just like any 2 and 4 year old the answer was no.
Feeling rather frustrated I asked Posy to pick her teddy up off the floor, which she did no problems. So I asked Puppy to pick her teddy off the floor which she also did. I thought result so I carried on asking for them to put individual items away, but unfortunately they soon got board of this so I changed tactics.

I asked Posy to find 3 pieces of rubbish and no more or less. Which she did very quickly. Once she had finished I asked her to find 3 more pieces of rubbish. Once these pieces where also in the bin I asked her how many pieces she had found altogether. I helped her work out the sum by holding up 3 fingers and another 3 while she counted.
I asked Puppy to find 2 green and yellow things under the table and put them away.
I asked them to find 2 things on the floor that didn’t belong in this room.

20130203-100951.jpg
Posy brought this back (which was left over from yesterday!!) so I asked her where does it belong? At first she tried to give it to Jakey, so I started asking questions, when was the drink made? Has it been used? She soon decided it belonged in the kitchen to be washed.
As Jakey was getting rather board I asked if the girls could find him 1 red toy each. Puppy brought him this

20130203-101417.jpg
I asked is it red and reply was it’s a teddy. I again asked yes but is it red? And she told me blue.
As Posy is learning 3d shapes at school I asked her to find something which is a cylinder and was surprised that Puppy found something first!!

20130203-101711.jpg
We carried on in this way with me describing objects, appearance or job they do. Also asking for certain objects by colour, letter they begin with, room they belong in or a specific number, until the room was clean.

This worked much better than I thought it would and the girls had fun doing it, which for children is very important.
I hope this works for you as we’ll as it did for me.

Izlles age 6
Posy age 4
Puppy age 2.5
Jakey age 10 months

Please excuse my spelling but I have dyslexia and do my best. Please don’t hesitate to correct me.
Thank you.

This entry was posted in literacy skills, maths, Problem-solving, Shape recognition, Teamwork. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

