Hand warmers

We have a few birthdays coming up so we have been doing gift crafts.

For my sister who is always cold we have made some hand warmers.

To make these we used

•4 square pieces of felt
•embroidery floss/ you can use wool
•blunt needle
•rice
•lavender oil

Line 2 of the pieces of felt together, I punched holes in my felt to make to easier to sew.

20130209-213844.jpg
I sewed the first 3 edges together to keep it together and then let the children get to work.

20130209-214054.jpg
All the children had a turn sewing.

20130209-214346.jpg
Once the 3 sides were sewn up we filled it up with rice which I had mixed with lavender oil.

20130209-214615.jpg
Once it was suitably full, I sewed up the opening and then let the children see it up as well.

Once we had finished the first hand warmer we got to work on the other one as obviously you need 2.

Here are the finished hand warmers.

20130209-215400.jpg
All you need to do now is heat them up in the microwave for 30-60 seconds and enjoy warm hands.
You can also place these in your draws to them smell nice and fresh.

This entry was posted in craft, fine motor skils. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hand warmers

  1. Julie says:

    My mom goes through boxes of hand warmers each winter. I never thought of making them. Pluse this is a great kid project. I would love it if you link-up with Hobbies and Handicrafts.
    http://highhillhomeschool.blogspot.com/2013/02/hobbies-and-handicrafts-feb-15.html

  2. What a great activity to include the kids in! My 5 year old loves to sew, I should get her to make me a few of these 🙂
    Thanks for sharing!

  3. What a clever (and useful) craft! I’ll be featuring your post as part of my homemade crafts roundup from the Weekly Kids’ Co-op. Thanks for sharing. xoxo P

Leave a Reply

