Gruffalo activities for world book day

Posy and Puppy absolutely adore the Gruffalo so when Posy found out her class was doing the Gruffalo for world book day she was ecstatic.

To make the most out this excitement I quickly found some printable’s to keep my girlies busy.

Our first activity was order sequences for the story of the Gruffalo’s child. I found the activity here. When I printed these out there was quite a lot but I thought I will help her so it won’t be so big a job. I presented her with the Gruffalo’s child book, a scrapbook, the printouts, scissors and glue.

20130304-131457.jpg
I gave her the book to help her put the pictures into sequence and the scissors to cut out the picture.

20130304-134253.jpg
As I have said there was a lot of pictures to sort out but Posy wouldn’t let me help!! She sat there for about 1.5 hours if not more sorting cutting and glue

20130304-134456.jpg
She enjoyed this activity so much that she didn’t even want to stop for lunch.

For our second activity for both Posy and Puppy I found this worksheet (no 2).
I helped Puppy to do this worksheet by reading the word and asking her where the picture was.

20130304-135138.jpg
Puppy really enjoyed this activity as it made her feel like a big girl.

Our 3 activity was just for Posy. Here is the worksheet. Labelling the parts of the Gruffalo helped Posy with her writing in away which she was interesting to her (she is not keen on literacy).

20130304-140506.jpg.
Our 4 activity was also just for Posy. Sorting out the alphabet. I got the worksheet from here (pages 5-13)
I first gave Posy the capital letters and asked her to stick them in her scrapbook in the correct order down the side of the page.

20130304-141706.jpg
Once she had completed this I then gave her the lowercase letters and asked her to match them up to the capital letter and glue it next to it.

20130304-142232.jpg
Posy had fun doing this, turning the pages of her scrapbook trying to find the match.

20130304-142001.jpg
Our 5 and final activity was a nice and simple colouring in. I found colouring pages here as well as at Twinkl.

20130304-150633.jpg
Both girls loved colouring in the Gruffalo, it is also the first colouring page Puppy coloured in rather than just scribble on.

20130304-154149.jpg
The snake was especially good for pen control.

Please not we did not do all these activities on one day.

Izlles age 6
Posy age 4
Puppy age 2.5
Jakey age 10 months

Please excuse my spelling but I have dyslexia and do my best. Please don’t hesitate to correct me.
Thank you.

This entry was posted in fine motor skils, literacy skills, Problem-solving, Uncategorized, writing skills. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gruffalo activities for world book day

  1. Pingback: Gruffalo face mask | what to do with the children

Leave a Reply

